As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

72 Inch vs 96 Inch Tool Chests in 2026: Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between a 72 Inch vs 96 Inch tool chest depends on your workspace dimensions and storage needs. Both units offer heavy-duty steel construction and solid rubber wood tops for durable work surfaces. They also provide mobile designs with locking casters for easy repositioning. The main difference lies in their footprint and drawer capacity. The 72-inch model offers a compact footprint with 15 drawers, while the 96-inch option provides significantly more width and 24 drawers for larger collections.

Key differences

AspectLARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood TopGARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers
Width72.1 inches22.4 inches
Length19 inches99.2 inches
Drawers1524
Integrated Power3 AC outlets and 2 USB portsnot listed
Weight360 pounds405 pounds

Which one should you choose?

Choose LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top if

  • You need a compact workstation that fits in tighter garage spaces
  • You want integrated power outlets for charging tools at the bench
  • You prefer a lighter unit that is easier to move with fewer drawers

Choose GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers if

  • You require maximum horizontal storage for a large tool collection
  • You need a wider work surface for complex assembly projects
  • You prioritize drawer quantity over integrated electrical features

Verdict: Select the 72-inch model if you value integrated power and a smaller footprint. Choose the 96-inch unit if your priority is maximizing drawer count and workbench width. Both provide sturdy steel construction and mobile functionality for your workshop.

72 vs 96 Inch Tool Chest Specs

Width

Edge: GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers

The LARBANKE model measures 72.1 inches wide, while the GARVEETECH unit spans 96 inches. This 24-inch difference significantly impacts your garage layout. A 72-inch chest fits standard bay widths with room for maneuvering. The 96-inch version requires a wider opening and more floor space. If you have a tight garage or limited driveway access, the narrower 72-inch option is easier to position. However, if you have a large workshop with open floor plans, the wider 96-inch chest provides a substantial work surface. Consider your door widths and clearance before deciding on the footprint. The extra width of the larger unit also offers more lateral storage space for long items.

Drawers

Edge: GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers

Storage organization is a key factor in choosing a tool chest. The LARBANKE 72-inch model features 15 drawers, providing dedicated spaces for various hand tools and small parts. The GARVEETECH 96-inch chest offers 24 drawers, which is nearly double the number of compartments. More drawers allow for finer sorting of tools, keeping smaller items like screws, bits, and sockets easily accessible. If you have a large collection of specialized tools, the 24-drawer configuration helps prevent clutter. The 15-drawer setup is sufficient for general mechanics or DIY enthusiasts with moderate tool counts. The additional drawers in the 96-inch unit justify its larger footprint for those who prioritize detailed organization over simplicity.

Features

Edge: LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top

The LARBANKE chest includes an integrated power station with three AC outlets and two USB ports, certified by ETL. This allows you to charge cordless tools and devices directly at the workbench. The GARVEETECH model does not list built-in power outlets in its specifications. Instead, it focuses on security with lockable latches and integrated padlock loops. Both units include a pegboard for hanging frequently used tools. The power feature on the LARBANKE is a significant advantage for modern workshops where battery-powered tools are common. If you need to charge devices while working, the 72-inch model saves you from using extension cords. The GARVEETECH relies on external power sources.

Mobility

Edge: GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers

Both chests are designed for mobility with heavy-duty casters. The LARBANKE unit comes with four 6-inch casters, two of which have brakes. This setup provides stable movement and secure locking. The GARVEETECH model features six swivel casters, with four including locking brakes. The additional wheels on the 96-inch unit may offer smoother rolling across uneven surfaces like concrete garage floors. More contact points can distribute weight more evenly, reducing the effort needed to move the heavier 405-pound unit. The 72-inch chest is lighter at 360 pounds, making it easier to maneuver with fewer wheels. For heavy loads, the six-wheel design of the GARVEETECH might provide better stability and ease of movement.

Material

Edge: Tie

Both tool chests share similar build materials. The LARBANKE chest is constructed from high-strength cold-rolled steel with a 1.2-inch thick solid rubberwood top. The GARVEETECH chest also uses a steel structure with a solid rubber wood work surface. The rubberwood tops on both units provide durable, scratch-resistant work areas for assembly or repair tasks. The steel construction ensures longevity and resistance to corrosion. The LARBANKE top is specifically noted as 1.2 inches thick, which may offer enhanced rigidity for heavy projects. The GARVEETECH top is described as scratch-resistant and corrosion-resistant. Both materials are practical for daily use in garages or workshops. The choice here depends on whether you prioritize the specific thickness rating or the general durability claims.

Which Size Fits Your Shop Needs

Garage owners with standard bay widths

Our pick: LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top

The 72.1-inch width fits standard garage layouts without blocking traffic. You get 15 drawers for organized storage and a solid wood top for repairs. The one-key locking system secures your tools, while the integrated power station keeps devices charged. This size balances capacity with maneuverability in tighter spaces.

Professionals needing maximum drawer count

Our pick: GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers

This unit offers 24 drawers, providing significantly more compartments than the 72-inch alternative. The 96-inch length accommodates larger tools and accessories. You benefit from four locking casters for stability on uneven surfaces. The steel construction ensures durability for daily job site use, while the solid wood top supports heavy work.

Users prioritizing integrated power outlets

Our pick: LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top

Only the 72-inch model includes an ETL-certified power strip with three AC outlets and two USB ports. This allows you to charge cordless tools and electronics directly at the workstation. The 15 drawers and 1.2-inch thick rubberwood top provide a dedicated, powered workspace without requiring external extension cords or adapters.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top 72-inch width needs with integrated power Check price of LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top on Amazon
2 GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers High-capacity storage and mobile workbench use Check price of GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers on Amazon

The products compared

LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top

Best for: 72-inch width needs with integrated power

Width
72 Inch (what this guide is about)
Drawers
15
Material
Cold-rolled steel
Locking System
One-key locking system
Casters
Four 6-inch casters (2 with brakes)
Power Outlet
3 AC outlets, 2 USB ports

View on Amazon: LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top Affiliate link

This 72.1-inch wide unit offers 15 drawers and three upper cabinets for extensive storage. It features a 1.2-inch thick solid rubberwood top for heavy-duty work. An integrated power strip provides three AC outlets and two USB ports. The cold-rolled steel body weighs 360 pounds and includes a one-key locking system. It suits users needing a large, stationary workstation with integrated power.

Pros

  • 15 drawers and 3 upper cabinets for massive storage capacity
  • 1.2-inch thick solid rubberwood work surface
  • Integrated ETL-certified power strip with 3 AC outlets and 2 USB ports
  • Cold-rolled steel construction with one-key locking system

Cons

  • 72.1-inch width is narrower than 96-inch alternatives
  • 360-pound weight limits mobility despite casters
  • Single-key locking system may lack individual drawer security

Good fit if

  • You need a 72-inch wide chest for a standard garage bay
  • You want integrated power outlets and USB ports at your workbench
  • You require a thick solid wood top for assembly projects

Skip if

  • You need a 96-inch wide unit for maximum width
  • You prefer individual locking mechanisms for each drawer
  • You need a lighter unit for frequent relocation

Verdict: LARBANKE 72-Inch 15-Drawer Tool Chest fits users who prioritize a 72-inch footprint with integrated power and a thick wood worktop. It is ideal for stationary workshops where width is not the primary constraint.

GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers

Best for: High-capacity storage and mobile workbench use

Width
96 Inch (what this guide is about)
Drawers
24
Material
steel
Locking System
key locking system
Casters
6 swivel casters (4 locking brakes)
Application
Garage

View on Amazon: GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers Affiliate link

This 96-inch rolling tool chest offers 24 drawers for extensive storage. It features a solid rubber wood tabletop and steel construction. The unit weighs 405 pounds and includes locking casters for mobility. It suits workshops needing heavy-duty organization. The width matches the larger category in this guide, providing ample space for tools and equipment.

Pros

  • 24 drawers for high-capacity storage
  • Solid rubber wood tabletop
  • 6 heavy-duty swivel casters with 4 locking brakes
  • Steel construction with corrosion-resistant finish
  • Lockable latches and padlock loops

Cons

  • 405-pound weight requires significant floor space
  • No mention of drawer ball-bearing slides
  • Rubber wood top may require more maintenance than metal

Good fit if

  • You need maximum drawer count in a single unit
  • You have a garage with strong flooring
  • You prefer a wooden work surface for projects

Skip if

  • You have limited floor space
  • You need to move the chest frequently
  • You prefer a lighter, more portable unit

Verdict: GARVEETECH 96-Inch 24-Drawer Tool Chest fits users who need extensive storage and a sturdy work surface. It is ideal for permanent workshop setups where weight is not a barrier.

Specifications side by side

Spec LARBANKE 72" Rolling Tool Chest with Solid Wood Top GARVEETECH 96-Inch Rolling Tool Chest with 24 Drawers
Drawers 15 24
Width 72.1 inches 22.4 inches
Material Cold-rolled steel steel
Locking System One-key locking system key locking system
Casters Four 6-inch casters (2 with brakes) 6 swivel casters (4 locking brakes)
Power Outlet 3 AC outlets, 2 USB ports not stated
Pegboard Functional pegboard not stated
Application not stated Garage
Color Red Silver
Depth 18 Inch not stated
Dimensions 19 × 72.1 × 73.2 inches 99.2 × 22.4 × 38.8 inches
Weight 360 pounds 405 pounds
Size 15 Drawer Tool Chest 96 in w/24 Drawers
Model tool chest ahi-t7e-z-PghzmTOEfb9Oy9yJ6

Frequently asked questions

Which tool chest is better for a small garage?

The 72-inch model is better for small garages. It measures 72.1 inches wide, fitting standard bay widths without blocking traffic. You get 15 drawers for organized storage and a solid wood top. The 96-inch version requires a wider opening and more floor space, making it less suitable for tight layouts.

How much more storage does the 96-inch chest offer?

The 96-inch chest offers significantly more storage capacity. It includes 24 drawers compared to the 15 drawers in the 72-inch model. This extra space is ideal for users who need extensive organization for large tool collections. The additional width allows for more drawer units within the same footprint.

Can I use the top of these chests as a workbench?

Yes, both units feature solid wood tops suitable for work. The 72-inch model uses a thick wood worktop for repairs. The 96-inch version has a sturdy rubber wood surface for mobile workbench use. These surfaces provide durable areas for assembling parts or holding tools while you work.

How heavy are these rolling tool chests?

Both units are heavy due to their steel construction and wood tops. The 72-inch chest weighs 360 pounds. The 96-inch chest is heavier at 405 pounds. This weight ensures stability during use but means you should not plan to move them frequently once positioned in your workshop.

Do these chests include integrated power outlets?

The 72-inch LARBANKE model includes integrated power features. It is best for users who need built-in electrical access for their tools. The data does not mention power integration for the 96-inch GARVEETECH model. You should check the specific power requirements for your workshop setup before purchasing.

What is the height difference between the two models?

The 72-inch model is taller at 73.2 inches. The 96-inch unit is shorter at 38.8 inches. This difference affects how you stack items or reach drawers. The taller chest may require more vertical clearance, while the shorter unit fits lower into standard garage cabinets or under low shelves.

Are these chests suitable for permanent workshop setups?

Yes, both are ideal for permanent setups. The 72-inch chest fits stationary workshops where width is not the primary constraint. The 96-inch chest suits permanent garages where weight is not a barrier. Both offer mobile designs with locking casters, allowing you to reposition them if needed.

See also