9 Drawers or 10 Drawers Workbenches? Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between a 9 Drawers vs 10 Drawers workbench depends on your storage needs and workspace dimensions. Both units offer rolling mobility with locking casters, ball-bearing drawer slides, and integrated power strips. They also share steel construction and protective corner bumpers. The main difference lies in drawer count and overall footprint. One model provides a wider top surface, while the other offers an extra drawer for smaller tool organization. This comparison breaks down the specs to help you decide.
Key differences
| Aspect | WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers | EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Drawers | 9 | 10 |
| Overall Width | 78.8 inches | 21.7 inches |
| Length | 23.4 inches | 63.4 inches |
| Load Capacity | 1500 lbs | 1675 lbs |
| Work Surface Material | Wood | Solid rubber wood |
| Weight | 302 pounds | 257 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers if
- You need a wider work surface for larger projects
- You prefer a higher overall weight for stability
- You want a model with a door in addition to drawers
Choose EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest if
- You require more individual drawer compartments for small parts
- You need a longer work surface for extended tasks
- You want the highest listed load capacity
Verdict: Select the WORKPRO model if you prioritize a wider top surface and additional storage via a side door. Choose the EliteEdge unit if you need more drawers and a longer work surface for extended projects. Both options provide reliable mobility and power integration for your workshop.
9 vs 10 Drawers: Key Specs
Drawer count
The WORKPRO model provides nine distinct drawers alongside one side door, offering a mixed storage approach for larger items. The EliteEdge unit features ten drawers of varying sizes without an additional door. If you prefer compartmentalized storage for small parts and tools in separate bins, the ten-drawer configuration allows for more granular organization. However, the single door on the WORKPRO unit offers a different utility for taller or bulkier equipment that does not fit in standard drawer slots. Both systems use ball-bearing slides for smooth operation, but the drawer quantity is your primary choice factor here.
Load capacity
When supporting heavy equipment, the EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest holds an advantage with a stated maximum load capacity of 1675 lbs. This robust rating suggests it can handle heavier machinery or dense tool collections without structural concern. The WORKPRO 72-inch Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers supports up to 1500 lbs. While this is still a high capacity suitable for most professional workshops, the EliteEdge unit offers 175 lbs more weight tolerance. If you regularly place heavy power tools or metal stock on the work surface, the higher limit provides extra peace of mind.
Work surface
The WORKPRO unit features a solid wooden workbench top that is 1-3/8 inches thick. This substantial thickness provides a durable and stable platform for assembly tasks or heavy workpieces. The EliteEdge model uses a solid rubber wood top. While both surfaces offer a sturdy workspace for repairs and projects, the WORKPRO specifies its thickness explicitly, indicating a potentially more rigid surface for precision work. Rubber wood is also a durable hardwood, so both surfaces are practical. The choice depends on whether you prefer the specific thickness data of the WORKPRO or the material type of the EliteEdge.
Power outlets
Both units include integrated power strips to keep your workspace tidy and functional. The WORKPRO model provides a certified power strip with six AC outlets and two USB ports, backed by a 1.5-meter cord. This specific count allows you to power multiple large tools simultaneously. The EliteEdge unit also includes an integrated power strip with USB ports, but the exact number of AC outlets is not specified in the published data. If you need to run several high-draw devices at once, the WORKPRO's six outlets offer a clear quantitative advantage for your electrical needs.
Overall dimensions
The WORKPRO cabinet is wider at 78.8 inches overall, providing a broader footprint for storage and workspace. Its length is 23.4 inches, and it stands 38.3 inches tall. The EliteEdge unit is narrower at 21.7 inches overall width, with a length of 63.4 inches and a height of 32.7 inches. The EliteEdge is significantly shorter, which may suit users who prefer a lower workbench height. The WORKPRO offers more width for lateral tool placement, while the EliteEdge provides a longer front-to-back surface. Your available floor space and preferred working height will determine which dimensions fit your garage best.
Which Rolling Tool Chest Fits You
Heavy workshop users needing max capacity
The EliteEdge unit supports 1675 lbs, exceeding the WORKPRO limit. Its solid rubber wood top handles heavy loads better. You get ten drawers with anti-slip liners for organized storage. The steel frame ensures stability. This model suits those prioritizing raw strength and higher weight limits for their tools.
Users needing extra door storage
The WORKPRO cabinet includes one side door with an adjustable shelf, complementing its nine drawers. This offers flexible storage for larger items. It also features six swivel casters for easier movement compared to the EliteEdge. The integrated power strip provides six AC outlets and two USB ports for convenient tool charging.
Those preferring a wider workspace
The WORKPRO model is 78.8 inches wide, providing a broader work surface than the EliteEdge. Its 72-inch length offers ample room for large projects. The thick wooden top enhances durability. If you need a wider platform for assembly or repair tasks, this unit provides the extra space required for your workflow.
Buyers seeking a lighter unit
The EliteEdge weighs 257 pounds, making it lighter than the 302-pound WORKPRO. This reduced weight may ease relocation despite the four casters. It retains a high 1675 lb load capacity. If you value a balance between mobility and strength, this silver unit offers a manageable weight profile without sacrificing storage utility.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers | Heavy-duty storage with integrated power | Check price of WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers on Amazon |
| 2 | EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest | Heavy-duty 10-drawer storage with power | Check price of EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest on Amazon |
The products compared
WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers
Best for: Heavy-duty storage with integrated power
- Drawers
- 9 Drawers (what this guide is about)
- Work Surface Material
- Wood
- Work Surface Dimensions
- 72" x 22"
- Load Capacity
- 1500 lbs
- Number of Drawers
- 9
- Power Outlets
- 6 AC + 2 USB
View on Amazon: WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers Affiliate link
This WORKPRO rolling tool cabinet features 9 drawers and one door for organized storage. It supports a 1500 lb load capacity with a 1-3/8-inch thick wooden work surface. The unit includes 6 swivel casters with brakes for mobility and an integrated power strip with 6 outlets and 2 USB ports. It measures 78.8 inches wide and weighs 302 pounds. This setup suits professionals needing heavy-duty storage and power access.
Pros
- 1500 lbs maximum load capacity
- 1-3/8-inch thick solid wood work surface
- Integrated power strip with 6 AC outlets and 2 USB ports
- 9 drawers with ball-bearing slides and anti-slip liners
- 6 swivel casters with 4 locking brakes
Cons
- Heavier build at 302 pounds
- Only one door for large item storage
- No mention of mobile app or remote connectivity
Good fit if
- You need a high load capacity for heavy equipment
- You require integrated power outlets and USB ports
- You want smooth ball-bearing drawer slides
Skip if
- You need more than 9 drawers
- You prefer a lighter unit under 200 pounds
- You want a 10-drawer configuration
Verdict: WORKPRO 72-Inch 9-Drawer Rolling Cabinet is ideal for workshops needing heavy load support and built-in power. It fits users who prioritize drawer smoothness and mobility over extra door storage.
EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest
Best for: Heavy-duty 10-drawer storage with power
- Drawers
- 10 Drawers (what this guide is about)
- Work Surface Material
- Solid rubber wood
- Load Capacity
- 1675 lbs
- Number of Drawers
- 10
- Power Outlets
- Integrated power strip with USB ports
- Overall Width
- 21.7 inches
View on Amazon: EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest Affiliate link
This EliteEdge workbench features 10 drawers with ball-bearing slides and a solid rubber wood top. It supports a 1675 lb load and includes a built-in power strip with USB ports. The steel frame and locking casters provide stability. It suits users needing high capacity and integrated power at their workstation.
Pros
- 10 drawers with smooth ball-bearing slides
- 1675 lbs work surface load capacity
- Solid rubber wood work top
- Integrated power strip with USB ports
- Locking swivel casters for stability
Cons
- Heavy 257-pound weight limits easy moving
- No mention of a key lock for security
- No app or remote control features
Good fit if
- You need 10 drawers for extensive tool organization
- You require a heavy-duty 1675 lb work surface
- You want integrated USB and power outlets
Skip if
- You prefer a lighter unit under 200 pounds
- You only need 9 drawers or fewer
- You need a smaller width than 21.7 inches
Verdict: EliteEdge 61-Inch 10-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest fits workshops needing high load capacity and 10 drawers with built-in power. It is a stable, heavy-duty option for serious storage.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | WORKPRO 72" Rolling Tool Cabinet with 9 Drawers | EliteEdge 61-Inch Rolling Tool Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Work Surface Material | Wood | Solid rubber wood |
| Work Surface Dimensions | 72" x 22" | not stated |
| Load Capacity | 1500 lbs | 1675 lbs |
| Number of Drawers | 9 | 10 |
| Power Outlets | 6 AC + 2 USB | Integrated power strip with USB ports |
| Overall Width | 78.8" | 21.7 inches |
| Width | 72 Inch | 61 Inch |
| Drawers | 9 Drawers | 10 Drawers |
| Application | Garage, Workshop | not stated |
| Material | Solid Wood | Rubber Wood |
| Color | White | Silver |
| Dimensions | 23.4 × 78.8 × 38.3 inches | 63.4 × 21.7 × 32.7 inches |
| Weight | 302 pounds | 257 pounds |
| Size | 72" x 22"(9-Drawer & 1-Door) | 10 Draws |
| Model | W082188AE | g_9txHfiuuBe2agdH-qLoQSf66n |
Frequently asked questions
Which rolling tool chest is wider, the 9-drawer or 10-drawer model?
The WORKPRO 9-drawer unit is significantly wider. It measures 78.8 inches across, providing a broad footprint for your workshop. The EliteEdge 10-drawer model is narrower at 63.4 inches in length. You should choose the wider WORKPRO option if floor space allows for a larger footprint.
Do these workbenches include electrical outlets?
Yes, both units feature integrated power strips. The WORKPRO 9-drawer cabinet includes built-in power for convenient tool charging. Similarly, the EliteEdge 10-drawer chest offers power access within its design. This feature keeps cords organized and reduces clutter on your work surface.
How much weight can the EliteEdge 10-drawer chest hold?
The EliteEdge unit supports a maximum load of 1675 lbs. This high capacity makes it suitable for heavy-duty storage needs. Its solid rubber wood top helps distribute weight effectively. You can store substantial equipment without worrying about structural stability.
What material is used for the top surface of these cabinets?
The WORKPRO 9-drawer cabinet features a solid wood top. The EliteEdge 10-drawer chest uses a solid rubber wood top. Both materials provide a durable work surface. Rubber wood offers specific resistance properties, while standard solid wood provides a traditional finish.
Which model is heavier and more stable?
The WORKPRO 9-drawer unit is heavier at 302 pounds. The EliteEdge 10-drawer chest weighs 257 pounds. The extra weight of the WORKPRO model may offer additional stability during heavy use. You can choose based on whether you prioritize mobility or stationary stability.
Are the drawers equipped with smooth sliding mechanisms?
Yes, both workbenches use ball-bearing drawer slides. This mechanism ensures smooth opening and closing for all drawers. You will experience less friction when accessing tools. The sliding system is standard across both the 9-drawer and 10-drawer configurations.
Does the 9-drawer model have any additional storage compartments?
The WORKPRO 9-drawer cabinet includes one side door in addition to the nine drawers. This door offers separate storage for larger items. The EliteEdge 10-drawer model relies solely on its ten drawers for storage. Choose the WORKPRO if you need mixed storage types.
What color options are available for these tool chests?
The WORKPRO 9-drawer unit is available in white. The EliteEdge 10-drawer chest comes in silver. These color choices allow you to match your workshop decor. The finish also helps hide minor scuffs during daily use.

