ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo vs ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest (2026): Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare the shopmax 41 inch 16 drawer combo vs 52 inch 13 drawer tool chest, you see two distinct storage solutions from the same brand. Both units feature heavy-duty casters for mobility and robust steel construction. The primary difference lies in their footprint and drawer configuration. One offers a narrower profile with more individual compartments, while the other provides a wider base with fewer drawers and a door. You need to weigh these physical dimensions against your specific storage needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo | ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Width | 40.9 inches | 52 inches |
| Number of Drawers | 16 | 13 |
| Total Storage Volume | 25,974 cubic inches | not listed |
| Steel Gauge | 20-gauge | not listed |
| Power Features | 4 electric outlets, 2 USB ports | not listed |
| Weight | 295 pounds | not listed |
Which one should you choose?
Choose ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo if
- You have limited floor width and need more individual drawer compartments
- You want built-in power outlets and USB charging stations
- You prefer a lighter unit that is easier to move
Choose ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest if
- You need a wider base for larger tools or equipment
- You prefer fewer, larger drawers over many small ones
- You do not require integrated electrical features
Verdict: The 41-inch combo suits users with narrower spaces who value numerous small compartments and integrated power. The 52-inch model is better for those prioritizing width and a simpler drawer layout. Choose based on your floor width and preferred storage organization style.
Size, Drawers, and Build Specs
Width and footprint
The ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest offers a significantly wider base at 52 inches. This extra width provides a broader platform for storing larger tools and equipment that do not fit in narrower units. In contrast, the ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo measures 40.9 inches wide. This narrower profile makes the 41-inch model easier to fit into tighter garage spaces or workshops with limited floor area. You must choose between the expansive storage width of the 52-inch unit and the space-saving dimensions of the 41-inch option based on your available floor space.
Drawer count
Drawer organization is a key difference between these two models. The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo includes 16 individual drawers, allowing for finer subdivision of small parts, hand tools, and accessories. The ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest features 13 drawers. While it has fewer drawers, the wider base may allow for deeper or wider individual drawer compartments. If you prefer many small compartments for sorting tiny items, the 16-drawer configuration is superior. If you need fewer, potentially larger drawers, the 13-drawer model may suffice.
Total storage volume
The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo specifies a total storage space of 25,974 cubic inches. This figure represents the combined internal volume of all drawers and compartments in the 41-inch unit. The specifications for the ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest do not list a specific cubic inch volume. While the 52-inch unit is physically wider, its total usable volume is not explicitly stated in the provided data. You should rely on the confirmed 25,974 cubic inches for the 41-inch model when estimating capacity, as the larger unit's exact volume remains undefined in the current data set.
Steel construction gauge
Durability often depends on steel thickness. The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo is constructed from 20-gauge steel. This specific gauge indicates a robust build quality designed for longevity and resistance to wear and tear. The specifications for the ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest do not mention the steel gauge used in its construction. Without this data, you cannot directly compare the thickness or durability of the metal used in the 52-inch unit. The 41-inch model provides confirmed 20-gauge steel construction, ensuring a known level of structural integrity.
Integrated power features
The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo includes integrated power solutions, featuring four electric outlets and two USB charging stations. This allows you to charge batteries or power small tools directly from the cabinet. The provided data for the ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest does not list any electrical outlets or USB ports. If you need convenient access to power without relying on extension cords, the 41-inch model is the clear choice. The 52-inch unit appears to lack these specific power features based on the available specifications.
Casters and mobility
Both units prioritize mobility with similar caster configurations. The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo is equipped with four heavy-duty casters. The ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest also features four heavy-duty casters. This commonality ensures that both large units can be moved relatively easily once positioned. Neither unit lists specific caster sizes or locking mechanisms in the provided data. Since both offer four heavy-duty casters, they tie in terms of basic mobility features, allowing you to move either unit with similar effort.
Which ShopMax Tool Chest Fits You
Users needing maximum drawer count
This 41-inch model features 16 drawers, offering more individual compartments for organizing small hardware. It includes ball-bearing slides for smooth operation and a secure latch system. The 20-gauge steel construction ensures durability. You also get four electric outlets and two USB stations for charging tools. This unit is ideal if you prioritize compartmentalization over raw width.
Those storing wide or large tools
The 52-inch width provides a significantly broader platform for oversized equipment. This extra space accommodates tools that do not fit in narrower 41-inch units. The 13-drawer configuration still offers ample storage. The 4 heavy-duty casters ensure mobility despite the larger footprint. Choose this if your primary need is horizontal space for bulky items.
Shoppers wanting built-in power options
Only the 41-inch model lists four electric outlets and two USB charging stations. This allows you to power or charge devices directly from the cabinet. The 20-gauge steel body and ball-bearing slides add to the utility. If you need integrated power solutions without external extension cords, this specific configuration meets that requirement effectively.
The products compared
ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo
Best for: High-density storage with power outlets
- Drawers
- 16
- Width
- 40.9
- Drawer Slides
- ball-bearing
- Material
- 20-gauge steel
- Casters
- 4 heavy-duty casters
- Color
- Black
View on Amazon: ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo Affiliate link
This ShopMax 41-inch 16-drawer tool chest offers 25,974 cubic inches of storage in a 40.9-inch wide frame. It uses 20-gauge steel construction with ball-bearing slides for smooth operation. The unit includes four electric outlets and two USB stations. Weighing 295 pounds, it provides substantial capacity for hardware and tools.
Pros
- 25,974 cubic inches of total storage space
- 20-gauge steel construction for durability
- Ball-bearing drawer slides with secure latch retention
- Four electric outlets and two USB charging stations
Cons
- Heavier build at 295 pounds
- Only four heavy-duty casters
- No mention of smart connectivity features
Good fit if
- You need maximum drawer count in a 41-inch width
- You want built-in power outlets and USB charging
- You prefer ball-bearing slides for heavy loads
Skip if
- You require smart app or remote control
- You have limited floor space under 40 inches
- You need more than 16 drawers
Verdict: ShopMax 41-Inch 16-Drawer Combo suits those prioritizing high drawer count and integrated power. It delivers dense storage in a compact footprint for organized tool management.
ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest
Best for: Users needing wide storage with a door
- Drawers
- 13
- Casters
- 4 heavy-duty casters
- Width
- 52 Inch
View on Amazon: ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest Affiliate link
This ShopMax combo offers 52 inches of width and 13 drawers for organized storage. It includes one door and four heavy-duty casters for mobility. The design suits users needing a large footprint for extensive tool collections. The rolling cabinet base allows you to move the unit with ease. It provides a solid foundation for workshop organization.
Pros
- 52-inch width for ample storage space
- 13 drawers for detailed organization
- Includes one door for enclosed storage
- Four heavy-duty casters for mobility
Cons
- Fewer drawers than the 16-drawer alternative
- Larger footprint requires more floor space
- Single door may limit quick access compared to all-drawer designs
Good fit if
- You need maximum width for large tools
- You prefer a mix of drawers and a door
- You have a spacious workshop floor
Skip if
- You need more than 13 drawers
- You have limited floor space
- You want a compact 41-inch unit
Verdict: ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Combo fits workshops where width matters more than drawer count. It suits users who value the door feature and have room for a 52-inch footprint.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo | ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Drawers | 16 | 13 |
| Width | 40.9 | not stated |
| Drawer Slides | ball-bearing | not stated |
| Material | 20-gauge steel | not stated |
| Casters | 4 heavy-duty casters | 4 heavy-duty casters |
| Color | Black | not stated |
| Size | Large | not stated |
| Dimensions | 18.1 × 40.9 × 64.8 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 295 pounds | not stated |
| Model | 94106R2-10S7 | not stated |
Frequently asked questions
Is the 41-inch ShopMax combo suitable for small garages?
Yes, the 41-inch ShopMax 16-Drawer Combo is designed for compact spaces. Its length is 18.1 inches, making it narrower than standard units. The total height is 64.8 inches, allowing it to fit under many ceiling structures. This footprint helps you maximize storage without overwhelming a small garage floor.
Does the 52-inch model have a door feature?
Yes, the ShopMax 52-Inch 13-Drawer Tool Chest includes a door feature. This design suits users who need a wide storage base but prefer enclosed top storage. The 52-inch width provides ample space for larger items that do not fit in the narrower 41-inch alternative.
How much does the 41-inch ShopMax chest weigh?
The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo weighs 295 pounds. This substantial weight contributes to its stability during use. The heavy build ensures the unit remains secure while you access tools from the 16 drawers. It requires a solid floor to support this mass safely.
Which unit offers more drawer compartments?
The ShopMax 41-inch 16-Drawer Combo offers more compartments. It features 16 drawers compared to the 13 drawers in the 52-inch model. This higher count allows for finer organization of small hardware and accessories. You get more individual sections for sorting tools in the compact unit.
Can I move the ShopMax tool chest easily?
Both units feature heavy-duty casters for mobility. This allows you to reposition the chest within your workshop or garage. The casters support the significant weight of the steel construction. Ensure your floor is smooth to facilitate easy movement of these heavy storage solutions.
What is the width difference between the two models?
The width difference is significant. The 52-inch model provides a 52-inch base, while the 41-inch combo is 40.9 inches wide. The extra width in the larger model accommodates broader tools. Choose the 52-inch version if you have the floor space for a wider footprint.

