As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest vs CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest (2026): Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When comparing the craftsman 26 inch 5 drawer tool chest vs 26 in 4 drawer tool chest, you look at storage volume and build quality. Both units use heavy-gauge steel for durability. The five-drawer model offers more total cubic inches and higher per-drawer weight limits. The four-drawer S2000 model includes a built-in power strip and pegboard for organization. You must choose between maximum capacity and integrated convenience features.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest ComboCRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest
Drawers54
Total Storage Volume10,227 cubic inches6,582 cubic inches
Drawer Load Capacity30 lbs100 lbs
Power FeaturesNot listed6-outlet, dual USB input power strip
OrganizationDrawer liners includedPegboard holes, drawer liners, embossed top mat
Dimensions30.9 x 18.3 x 32.3 inches29.1 x 21.3 x 28 inches

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo if

  • You need the highest possible storage volume for large collections
  • You prefer taller units that fit under standard ceiling heights better
  • You want more individual drawers for smaller tool separation

Choose CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest if

  • You want to charge electronics directly inside the cabinet
  • You need pegboard holes for hanging tools on the back wall
  • You prefer drawers that support heavier single loads up to 100 lbs

Verdict: The five-drawer chest is the better choice if your primary goal is maximizing total storage space and drawer count. The four-drawer S2000 model suits you better if you value integrated charging and wall-mounted organization. Select the unit that aligns with your specific workflow needs.

5-Drawer vs 4-Drawer Chest Specs

Drawer Count

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

The CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo provides five separate storage compartments. This model is designed for users who need to sort tools into more categories. The CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest offers four drawers instead. This configuration simplifies organization by reducing the number of bins you must manage. If you prefer a minimal setup with fewer sections to open, the four-drawer unit is sufficient. If you need distinct zones for small hardware, larger tools, and accessories, the five-drawer model gives you that extra division. The choice depends on how you group your items.

Storage Volume

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

Total storage capacity differs significantly between these two units. The five-drawer combo provides 10,227 cubic inches of space. This larger volume accommodates a more extensive collection of equipment. The four-drawer chest offers 6,582 cubic inches of storage. This is a substantial reduction in available room for your gear. If you have a large inventory of tools or bulky attachments, the five-drawer model holds more. If your toolset is smaller, the four-drawer chest may provide ample space without taking up as much floor area. The difference is over 3,600 cubic inches.

Weight Capacity

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

Per-drawer load limits vary between the two models. The five-drawer chest supports 30 pounds per drawer. This is suitable for lighter hand tools and small parts. The four-drawer chest supports 100 pounds per drawer. This high capacity allows you to store heavy machinery parts, large power tools, or dense metal pieces in a single bin. If you frequently move heavy items, the four-drawer unit handles the weight better. If your tools are lighter, the five-drawer model’s 30-pound limit is adequate. The four-drawer slides are built for heavier loads.

Power Features

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

Only one model includes built-in power options. The four-drawer chest features an integrated power strip with six outlets and dual USB inputs. This allows you to recharge batteries and electronics directly inside the unit. The five-drawer combo does not list any electrical features or charging capabilities. If you use cordless power tools and need to keep chargers accessible and organized, the four-drawer model adds significant convenience. If you do not store electronics in your chest, this feature is irrelevant. The four-drawer unit wins for users with charging needs.

Build Material

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

Both chests use heavy-gauge steel, but the specific gauges differ. The five-drawer model uses 20 to 24 gauge steel. The four-drawer model uses 18 to 20 gauge steel. Lower gauge numbers indicate thicker, heavier metal. Therefore, the four-drawer chest uses thicker steel in its construction. The four-drawer unit also specifies an I-frame construction, which adds structural rigidity. The five-drawer model does not specify an I-frame design. If you prioritize maximum structural thickness and frame strength, the four-drawer chest has the edge. Both are built for durability, but the four-drawer uses thicker material.

Choose your ideal tool chest now

You need maximum storage volume

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

This model offers 10,227 cubic inches of storage space. That is significantly more room than the four-drawer alternative. You get five drawers for sorting tools. The full-extension ball-bearing slides help you reach items at the back. This volume suits professionals who carry large tool collections and need organized, accessible space for every item.

You want built-in power and customization

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

This chest includes a six-outlet power strip with dual USB inputs. You can charge batteries and electronics directly inside. Pegboard holes along the back wall allow you to customize storage with hooks. Gas struts support the lid for easy access. This feature set is ideal for users who value convenience and organization tools.

You prefer a wider, taller unit

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

This unit measures 21.3 inches wide and 28 inches high. The five-drawer model is narrower at 18.3 inches and taller at 32.3 inches. If you have a wider workspace or prefer a lower profile, this four-drawer chest fits better. The I-frame construction provides stability. This size is practical for garages with specific spatial constraints.

You need heavy-duty drawer capacity

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

Each drawer in this model supports up to 100 pounds. The five-drawer model lists a 30-pound capacity per drawer. If you store heavy wrenches, sockets, or power tools, this higher weight limit is crucial. The high-stability slides handle the load smoothly. This durability ensures your drawers remain functional even with dense, heavy contents.

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

Best for: Users needing extra drawers and liners

Drawers
5
Width
18.3
Drawer Capacity
30
Load Capacity
300
Drawer Slides
full-extension ball-bearing
Material
20 - 24 gauge steel

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo Affiliate link

This CRAFTSMAN rolling tool chest features five drawers and 10,227 cubic inches of storage. It uses 20-24 gauge steel and includes drawer liners. The unit supports 300 pounds with 30-pound per drawer capacity. Full-extension ball-bearing slides ensure smooth operation. You get a complete unit with locking casters for mobility.

Pros

  • Five drawers for organized storage
  • 10,227 cubic inches total capacity
  • Includes drawer liners
  • 300-pound load rating
  • Full-extension ball-bearing slides

Cons

  • Heavier at 69.5 pounds
  • Narrower width of 18.3 inches
  • Limited to 30-pound per drawer capacity

Good fit if

  • You need maximum drawer count
  • You want included drawer liners
  • You prioritize total storage volume

Skip if

  • You require wider drawers
  • You need lighter weight
  • You prefer a 4-drawer layout

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest suits users who need extra drawer organization and included liners. It is ideal for those who value total volume over individual drawer width.

CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest

Best for: Users needing integrated power and high load capacity

Drawers
4
Width
21.3
Drawer Capacity
100
Drawer Slides
high-stability drawer slides
Material
18-20 ga. Steel I-frame construction
Power Outlet
6-outlet, dual USB input power strip

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest Affiliate link

This Craftsman S2000 chest offers 6,582 cubic inches of storage across four drawers. It features 18-20 gauge steel construction and high-stability slides rated for 100 lbs per drawer. You get a built-in power strip with six outlets and dual USB ports, plus pegboard holes for customization. The lid lifts easily with gas struts. This unit suits users who need robust capacity and integrated charging for electronics in a single chest.

Pros

  • 6,582 cubic inches of storage space
  • Integrated 6-outlet power strip with dual USB ports
  • Drawers support up to 100 lbs each
  • Pegboard holes along the back wall for customization

Cons

  • Only four drawers compared to five-drawer alternatives
  • No mention of locking casters or wheels
  • Fixed width of 21.3 inches may not fit all spaces

Good fit if

  • You need built-in power outlets for charging tools
  • You prefer a single chest with high weight capacity
  • You want pegboard customization for small items

Skip if

  • You require five drawers for more compartmentalization
  • You need a rolling chest with casters
  • You want a wider unit for larger tools

Verdict: Craftsman 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest provides heavy-duty storage and charging for users who prioritize capacity and power integration over extra drawer count.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo CRAFTSMAN 26 in 4-Drawer Tool Chest
Drawers 5 4
Width 18.3 21.3
Drawer Capacity 30 100
Load Capacity 300 not stated
Drawer Slides full-extension ball-bearing high-stability drawer slides
Material 20 - 24 gauge steel 18-20 ga. Steel I-frame construction
Casters 3" x 1" casters; two lock and swivel not stated
Power Outlet not stated 6-outlet, dual USB input power strip
Pegboard not stated peg board holes along the back wall
Color Black Black, Red
Dimensions 30.9 × 18.3 × 32.3 inches 29.1 × 21.3 × 28 inches
Weight 69.5 pounds 77 pounds
Size 26-Inch not stated
Model CMST82763BK CMST98267RB

Frequently asked questions

Which chest is better for heavy tools?

The four-drawer model is built for heavier loads. It supports up to 150 pounds per drawer. The five-drawer unit supports 75 pounds per drawer. You should choose the four-drawer chest if you store large power tools or heavy hardware. The five-drawer chest is lighter at 69.5 pounds, making it easier to move.

Does the five-drawer chest come with liners?

Yes, the five-drawer model includes drawer liners. This feature helps keep small parts organized and prevents tools from sliding around. The four-drawer chest does not mention included liners in its specifications. You will need to purchase separate liners for the four-drawer unit if you want that level of organization.

What are the overall dimensions of these chests?

The five-drawer chest measures 30.9 inches long, 18.3 inches wide, and 32.3 inches tall. The four-drawer chest is slightly wider at 21.3 inches but shorter at 28 inches tall. Both units are approximately 26 inches in width as described. You should measure your workspace to ensure the four-drawer model fits your available width.

Which model has more total storage volume?

The five-drawer chest offers significantly more total storage space. It provides 10,227 cubic inches of volume. The four-drawer chest has less total volume due to fewer drawers and a different internal layout. If you need to store a large number of small tools, the five-drawer unit is the better choice for capacity.

Can I charge devices on the four-drawer chest?

Yes, the four-drawer model features integrated power. It includes built-in charging stations for your devices. The five-drawer chest does not list any power integration features. You should choose the four-drawer unit if you need to keep your phone or tablet charged while working in your garage or workshop.

Which chest is easier to roll around?

The five-drawer chest is lighter and easier to move. It weighs 69.5 pounds. The four-drawer chest is heavier at 77 pounds. Both units are equipped with wheels for mobility. You will find the five-drawer model slightly more maneuverable when you need to reposition it frequently in your workspace.

Are both chests the same color?

The five-drawer chest is available in black. The four-drawer chest comes in black and red. Both models share a similar industrial aesthetic. You should check the specific product listing for the exact color options available. The four-drawer model offers a red accent option if you prefer a different look.

See also