As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

CRAFTSMAN S2000 26IN 5-DRAWER CABINET vs CRAFTSMAN S2000 26IN 4-DRAWER CHEST (2026): Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are looking at the craftsman s2000 26in 5 drawer cabinet vs s2000 26in 4 drawer chest. Both units share a 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame build and 100 lb per drawer capacity. They both feature full extension, soft-close slides. The main difference is width and drawer count. The 5-drawer model is 26 inches wide with five drawers. The 4-drawer chest is narrower at 21 inches with four drawers. One includes a power strip; the other has a top mat.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer ChestCRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet
Width21 inches26 inches
Drawers45
Height30 inches26 inches
Key Features6 outlet, 2 USB port power stripEmbossed top mat, over-mold key system
Weight79 poundsnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest if

  • You need a narrower unit that fits in tighter spaces.
  • You want built-in power outlets and USB ports for charging.
  • You prefer a taller profile with gas strut support for the lid.

Choose CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet if

  • You need more drawer capacity for larger tool collections.
  • You want a wider surface area for organizing more items.
  • You prefer a shorter unit that sits lower to the ground.

Verdict: Choose the 4-drawer chest if you prioritize integrated power and a narrower footprint. Pick the 5-drawer cabinet if you need more drawers and a wider base. Both share the same durable steel construction and smooth slide mechanism.

Width and Drawer Count Comparison

Width

Edge: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet

The Craftsman S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet is significantly wider at 26 inches. This extra width provides a broader work surface and more lateral space for organizing larger tools. In contrast, the Craftsman S2000 26-inch 4-Drawer Chest with Light & Divide measures 21 inches wide. This narrower profile makes it easier to fit into tighter garage spaces or along walls where width is limited. You should choose the wider cabinet if you need more surface area or broader storage. The narrower chest is better for constrained layouts. Both units are black, but the footprint difference is substantial for your workshop planning.

Drawers

Edge: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet

Storage organization differs primarily in the number of drawers. The 5-Drawer Cabinet offers five separate compartments, allowing for finer categorization of your tools and hardware. This is ideal if you have many small items that need distinct homes. The 4-Drawer Chest provides four drawers, which may be sufficient for larger, bulkier tools. Fewer drawers often mean deeper or taller individual compartments, though exact internal dimensions are not listed. If you prefer more segmented storage options, the five-drawer model is the practical choice. If you need fewer, larger sections, the four-drawer unit works well. Both have full extension slides for easy access.

Power Features

Edge: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

Power integration is a key differentiator between these two models. The 4-Drawer Chest includes an integrated convenience power strip with six outlets and two USB ports. This feature allows you to charge devices or power small tools directly from the cabinet lid area, which is supported by gas struts for easy access. The 5-Drawer Cabinet does not list any built-in power outlets or USB ports in its specifications. If you frequently need to charge cordless tools or use powered accessories near your storage, the four-drawer chest offers a clear advantage. The five-drawer unit requires you to rely on external power sources.

Dimensions

Edge: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

Height and overall volume vary between the two units. The 5-Drawer Cabinet is listed at 26 inches in height, creating a more compact vertical profile. The 4-Drawer Chest stands taller at 30 inches. This additional height in the four-drawer model may provide more vertical storage space within the drawers or a higher work surface. The length of the 4-Drawer Chest is 31 inches, while the 5-Drawer Cabinet is listed with a length of 26 inches. These dimensional differences affect how each unit fits in your space. You should measure your available floor space carefully, as the four-drawer chest occupies more linear length and height.

Weight

Edge: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

The weight of each unit impacts stability and placement. The 4-Drawer Chest weighs 79 pounds, providing a solid base that resists tipping when drawers are opened. The 5-Drawer Cabinet does not list a specific weight in the provided data. Heavier units generally offer better stability for storing heavy tools. The 79-pound weight of the four-drawer chest suggests a robust build, consistent with its 18-20 gauge steel I-Frame construction. If you plan to place heavy items in the drawers, the known weight of the four-drawer chest indicates it can handle the load securely. The lighter profile of the five-drawer cabinet may require careful loading.

Which Craftsman S2000 fits your needs

Mechanics needing wide workspace

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet

The 5-drawer cabinet offers a 26-inch width, providing a broader work surface for larger tools. It includes an embossed top mat for surface protection. You get five drawers with 100 lb capacity each and full extension soft-close slides. The unit is constructed from 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame, ensuring durability for heavy daily use in a garage or shop environment.

Users needing power and charging

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

This 4-drawer chest integrates a power strip with six outlets and two USB ports directly into the unit. Gas struts support the lid for quick access to the charging area. It measures 21 inches wide and includes a light. You get 100 lb drawer capacity and soft-close slides. The 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame construction ensures long-term durability for your tools.

Buyers preferring compact footprint

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

At 21 inches wide, this chest fits tighter spaces than the 26-inch cabinet. It weighs 79 pounds and stands 30 inches high. You still receive 100 lb per drawer capacity and full extension soft-close slides. The 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame build provides robust protection. The integrated power strip and light add convenience without requiring extra width in your workspace.

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest

Best for: users needing integrated power and soft-close slides

Drawers
4
Width
21
Drawer Capacity
100
Drawer Slides
Full extension, soft-close
Material
18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
Power Outlet
6 outlet, 2 USB port

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest Affiliate link

This Craftsman S2000 chest offers four drawers with 100 lb capacity each and full extension soft-close slides. It includes a power strip with six outlets and two USB ports. The 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction provides durability. It measures 21 inches wide and weighs 79 pounds. This unit suits users needing integrated charging and sturdy drawer support for heavy tools.

Pros

  • 100 lb drawer capacity per drawer
  • Integrated power strip with 6 outlets and 2 USB ports
  • Full extension, soft-close drawer slides
  • 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction

Cons

  • Narrower 21-inch width limits overall storage footprint
  • Only four drawers compared to five-drawer alternatives
  • Heavier 79-pound build reduces portability

Good fit if

  • You need integrated power outlets for charging tools
  • You prioritize soft-close drawer mechanisms
  • You require 100 lb per drawer load capacity

Skip if

  • You need five drawers for maximum organization
  • You require a wider 26-inch footprint
  • You prefer a lighter unit for easy moving

Verdict: Craftsman S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest fits users who value integrated power and soft-close slides over maximum drawer count or width.

CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet

Best for: Users needing five drawers with soft-close slides

Drawers
5
Width
26
Drawer Capacity
100
Drawer Slides
Full extension, soft-close
Material
18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
Color
Black

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet Affiliate link

This Craftsman S2000 cabinet offers five drawers with full extension and soft-close slides. Each drawer supports 100 lbs. The build uses 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction for durability. It includes an embossed top mat and an internal locking system. You get extra storage space compared to the four-drawer version. This unit suits users who need more organized compartments for their tools.

Pros

  • Five drawers provide ample storage organization
  • Full extension soft-close slides reduce noise
  • 100 lb capacity per drawer handles heavy tools
  • 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction ensures strength
  • Internal locking system safeguards your tools

Cons

  • Heavier and bulkier than the four-drawer chest
  • Requires assembly before first use
  • No magnetic strip included on the exterior

Good fit if

  • You need five separate compartments for tool organization
  • You prefer soft-close drawers to prevent slamming
  • You want a 100 lb capacity per drawer

Skip if

  • You need a lighter unit for frequent moving
  • You prefer a four-drawer configuration for simplicity
  • You want a pre-assembled cabinet ready to use

Verdict: Craftsman S2000 26in 5-Drawer Cabinet fits professionals who need maximum drawer capacity and soft-close functionality. It is ideal for shops requiring robust 100 lb drawer ratings and secure internal locking.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN S2000 26in 4-Drawer Chest CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet
Drawers 4 5
Width 21 26
Drawer Capacity 100 100
Drawer Slides Full extension, soft-close Full extension, soft-close
Material 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
Power Outlet 6 outlet, 2 USB port not stated
Color Black Black
Dimensions 31 × 21 × 30 inches 26 × 26 × 26 inches
Weight 79 pounds not stated
Size 21 inches (W) x 31 inches (L) x 30 inches (H) 8 inches (W) x 30 inches (L) x 6 inches (H)
Model CMST32642BK CMST32752BK

Frequently asked questions

Which Craftsman S2000 unit is taller?

The 4-Drawer Chest is taller. It stands at 30 inches in height. The 5-Drawer Cabinet is shorter, measuring 26 inches tall. You should choose the taller unit if you need more vertical clearance for tall items. The cabinet’s lower profile makes it better for spaces with height restrictions.

Do both models have soft-close slides?

Yes, both units feature soft-close slides. This mechanism ensures drawers close gently and quietly without slamming. It protects your tools from jarring impacts. You get this premium feature on both the 4-drawer chest and the 5-drawer cabinet, regardless of the difference in drawer count or width.

What is the weight difference between the two?

The 4-Drawer Chest weighs 79 pounds. The weight of the 5-Drawer Cabinet is not specified in the data. You can expect the chest to be a substantial unit due to its steel frame. Check the manual for the exact weight of the cabinet if you need to plan for floor loading.

Is there a color option for these units?

Both units are available in black. The 4-Drawer Chest is listed as black. The 5-Drawer Cabinet is also black. You do not have color variations to choose from between these two specific models. The finish is consistent across both the chest and cabinet styles in the S2000 line.

Which model offers more drawer capacity?

The 5-Drawer Cabinet offers more capacity. It includes five drawers compared to the four in the chest. Both drawers support up to 100 lbs each. If you need to separate more tools into individual compartments, the five-drawer model provides greater organization options for your workshop.

Are the drawer slides the same on both?

Yes, both use full extension soft-close slides. This allows you to access the back of every drawer completely. The soft-close feature prevents slamming. You get identical slide performance on both the 4-drawer chest and the 5-drawer cabinet, ensuring smooth operation regardless of which unit you select.

See also