CRAFTSMAN S2000 26IN 5-DRAWER CABINET or CRAFTSMAN S2000 41IN 6-DRAWER CHEST? Which CRAFTSMAN Model to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between the craftsman s2000 26in 5 drawer cabinet vs s2000 41in 6 drawer chest depends on your workspace layout. Both units share robust 18-20 gauge steel I-Frame construction and full-extension soft-close slides with 100 lb capacity. The main difference lies in size and utility. The 26-inch model offers a compact footprint with a tray and holder. The 41-inch chest provides extra storage and built-in power outlets. You must decide based on available floor space and power needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet | CRAFTSMAN S2000 41-Inch 6-Drawer Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Width | 26 inches | 41 inches |
| Drawers | 5 | 6 |
| Power Features | Not listed | 6 outlet, 2 USB port power strip |
| Lid Support | Not listed | Gas struts |
| Included Accessories | Embossed top mat, tray & holder | Top bumpers |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet if
- You need a compact unit that fits in tight spaces.
- You prefer a lower profile for easier access to lower drawers.
- You want a dedicated tray and holder for small items.
Choose CRAFTSMAN S2000 41-Inch 6-Drawer Chest if
- You require additional storage capacity for larger tool collections.
- You need convenient access to power outlets and USB ports.
- You want gas struts to keep the lid open securely.
Verdict: Select the 26-inch cabinet if floor space is limited and you prioritize a compact design. Choose the 41-inch chest if you need more drawer storage and integrated power solutions. Both models deliver the same durable slide and construction quality.
Cabinet vs Chest Specs Compared
Width and footprint
The Craftsman S2000 26-inch 5-drawer cabinet measures 26 inches wide, while the 41-inch 6-drawer chest spans 41 inches. This 15-inch difference significantly impacts your floor space requirements. If your garage or workshop has limited width, the 26-inch model fits into tighter corners or narrower aisles. The 41-inch version demands a wider wall or open area for installation. You must measure your available space carefully before choosing. The wider chest offers more horizontal storage surface area but requires a larger dedicated zone. The narrower cabinet is more flexible for small shops. Consider your layout constraints first.
Drawer count
The 26-inch cabinet includes five drawers, whereas the 41-inch chest provides six drawers. This extra drawer in the larger model allows for better organization of smaller tools or separate categories of hardware. You get more distinct compartments for sorting items. The additional drawer in the 41-inch unit adds versatility for separating frequently used tools from less common ones. Both models maintain full-extension soft-close slides for each drawer. The extra compartment in the larger chest helps keep your workspace tidier by reducing the need to stack items within a single drawer. More drawers mean more organization options.
Power and charging
The 41-inch 6-drawer chest features an integrated power strip with six outlets and two USB ports. This built-in convenience allows you to charge cordless tools or power small devices directly from the chest lid. The 26-inch 5-drawer cabinet does not list this feature in its specifications. You will need to find a separate power source or extension cord if you choose the smaller cabinet. The integrated power strip in the larger model reduces cable clutter and keeps your charging area accessible. This is a significant utility advantage for users with many battery-powered tools.
Lid support mechanism
The 41-inch chest uses gas struts to support its lid, allowing it to stay open hands-free. This feature is useful when you need both hands to retrieve or store items. The 26-inch cabinet specifications do not mention gas struts or a similar holding mechanism for its top. You may need to hold the lid open or use a prop if you select the smaller cabinet. The gas strut system in the larger chest adds convenience and safety by preventing the lid from slamming shut. It also protects your fingers from pinching. This mechanical difference enhances daily usability for the chest.
Top surface protection
The 26-inch cabinet includes an embossed top mat for surface protection. This mat helps prevent scratches on your tools and provides a non-slip surface for placing items. The 41-inch chest specifications mention top bumpers but do not list an included embossed mat. The bumpers likely protect the chest itself during movement or contact with other objects. The embossed mat in the cabinet offers immediate utility for protecting your work surface. You might need to purchase a separate mat for the chest. The included mat is a practical addition for the smaller cabinet.
Which Craftsman S2000 Cabinet Fits You
Small garage owners with limited width
The 26-inch 5-drawer cabinet fits tight spaces. Its compact footprint saves floor area. You get full-extension soft-close slides and 100 lb drawer capacity. The embossed top mat protects surfaces. This model suits workshops where width is the primary constraint.
Users needing power outlets and USB ports
The 41-inch 6-drawer chest includes a power strip with six outlets and two USB ports. This integrated convenience keeps devices charged. Gas struts support the lid for easy access. You gain extra drawer space and charging capabilities in one unit.
Those prioritizing maximum drawer storage capacity
This chest offers six drawers compared to the cabinet's five. Each drawer supports 100 lbs. The 41-inch width provides more internal volume. You organize more tools efficiently. The robust 18-20 gauge steel construction ensures durability for heavy tool storage needs.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet
Best for: compact storage with secure locking
- Drawers
- 5
- Width
- 26
- Drawer Capacity
- 100
- Drawer Slides
- Full extension, soft-close
- Material
- 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
- Color
- Black
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet Affiliate link
This Craftsman S2000 cabinet offers five drawers with full extension and soft-close slides. Each drawer supports 100 pounds of load. The unit uses 18-20 gauge steel I-Frame construction for durability. It includes an embossed top mat and an internal locking system. This model fits users needing a compact, secure storage solution for smaller tool collections.
Pros
- Five drawers with full extension slides
- Soft-close drawer mechanism
- 100 lb capacity per drawer
- 18-20 gauge steel I-Frame construction
- Internal locking system
Cons
- Smaller 26-inch width limits total storage volume
- Only five drawers compared to six-drawer alternatives
- No integrated lighting included
Good fit if
- You have limited floor space in a garage or workshop
- You need secure, organized storage for a moderate tool collection
- You prefer soft-close drawers for quiet operation
Skip if
- You require maximum storage capacity for a large tool inventory
- You need a wider cabinet for bulky power tools
- You want built-in LED lighting for visibility
Verdict: Craftsman S2000 26in 5-Drawer Cabinet suits users with tight spaces who value secure, smooth-operating drawers over maximum capacity.
CRAFTSMAN S2000 41-Inch 6-Drawer Chest
Best for: Users needing wide storage and built-in power
- Drawers
- 6
- Width
- 8
- Drawer Capacity
- 100
- Drawer Slides
- Full extension, soft-close
- Material
- 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
- Power Outlet
- 6 outlet, 2 USB port
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN S2000 41-Inch 6-Drawer Chest Affiliate link
This Craftsman S2000 chest offers 41 inches of width and six drawers for extensive tool storage. It features full-extension, soft-close slides with a 100 lb capacity per drawer. The unit includes an integrated power strip with six outlets and two USB ports. Constructed from 18-20 gauge steel, it provides durable storage. The gas-strut lid allows easy access to the charging area. It suits professionals needing heavy-duty, organized storage with built-in power.
Pros
- Six drawers with full-extension, soft-close slides
- 100 lb capacity per drawer
- Integrated power strip with six outlets and two USB ports
- Gas struts support the lid for easy access
- 18-20 gauge steel I-Frame construction
Cons
- Heavier at 141 pounds compared to the 26-inch cabinet
- No mention of locking mechanisms in the data
- Assembly required
Good fit if
- You need extra width for larger tools
- You want integrated power outlets and USB ports
- You prefer soft-close drawer slides
Skip if
- You have limited floor space
- You need a lighter, more portable unit
- You do not need built-in power strips
Verdict: Craftsman S2000 41in 6-Drawer Chest fits users who need wide storage and built-in power. It is ideal for workshops where space allows for a larger footprint and heavy-duty organization.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet | CRAFTSMAN S2000 41-Inch 6-Drawer Chest |
|---|---|---|
| Drawers | 5 | 6 |
| Width | 26 | 8 |
| Drawer Capacity | 100 | 100 |
| Drawer Slides | Full extension, soft-close | Full extension, soft-close |
| Material | 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame | 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame |
| Power Outlet | not stated | 6 outlet, 2 USB port |
| Color | Black | Black |
| Size | 8 inches (W) x 30 inches (L) x 6 inches (H) | Large |
| Dimensions | 26 × 26 × 26 inches | 30 × 8 × 6 inches |
| Weight | not stated | 141 pounds |
| Model | CMST32752BK | CMST34162RB |
Frequently asked questions
Is the 26-inch cabinet too small for serious tool storage?
It depends on your inventory. The 26-inch model offers five drawers with 100 lb capacity each. It suits users with tight spaces who prioritize secure, smooth-operating drawers over maximum capacity. You get full-extension soft-close slides. This model is ideal if you value organization over sheer volume.
Does the 41-inch chest include power outlets?
Yes, this unit features built-in power. It is designed for users needing wide storage and integrated electrical access. The larger footprint supports heavy-duty organization. This model fits workshops where space allows for a broader unit. You gain convenience by keeping tools and power in one place.
What is the weight difference between the two models?
The 41-inch chest weighs 141 pounds. The 26-inch cabinet is significantly lighter due to its smaller frame. This weight difference affects stability and mobility. The heavier chest provides a solid base for heavy tools. The lighter cabinet is easier to position in tight garage areas.
Can I use the 26-inch cabinet in a small garage?
Yes, it is designed for compact storage. The 26-inch width fits narrow spaces. You get secure locking and smooth drawer operation. The embossed top mat protects surfaces. This model suits users with limited floor area who need reliable storage without overwhelming the room.
How many drawers does each unit have?
The 26-inch cabinet has five drawers. The 41-inch chest has six drawers. Both use full-extension soft-close slides. The extra drawer in the chest provides additional separation for smaller items. You choose based on whether you need more compartments or a narrower footprint.
Is the 41-inch chest suitable for heavy-duty use?
Yes, it is built for heavy-duty organization. The unit spans 41 inches wide. It supports 100 lb capacity per drawer. The robust steel construction ensures durability. This model is ideal for workshops where space allows for a larger footprint and substantial tool loads.

