CRAFTSMAN S2000 26IN 5-DRAWER CABINET vs CRAFTSMAN Tool Cart Wheels: Spec Comparison
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are looking at the craftsman s2000 26in 5 drawer cabinet vs tool cart wheels options. Both items are heavy-duty storage solutions from CRAFTSMAN. They share an internal locking system for security. The main difference lies in their form and function. One is a stationary, multi-drawer cabinet built for precision. The other is a mobile, full-bank utility cart with integrated power. Your choice depends on whether you need fixed stability or rolling flexibility for your workshop.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet | CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart |
|---|---|---|
| Width | 26 inches | 37 inches |
| Drawers | 5 drawers | 6 drawers |
| Mobility | Stationary cabinet | Rolling utility cart |
| Power Features | Not listed | 6 power outlets, USB-A and USB-C |
| Material | 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame | Not listed |
| Drawer Slides | Full extension, soft-close | Not listed |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet if
- You need a compact, stationary unit that fits in tight spaces.
- You prefer soft-close drawer slides for quiet operation.
- You want a specific 26-inch width for your layout.
Choose CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart if
- You need to move tools and equipment around the shop.
- You require built-in power outlets and USB charging ports.
- You want more drawer capacity in a wider footprint.
Verdict: Choose the S2000 cabinet if you prioritize stationary stability and soft-close mechanics in a compact footprint. Select the rolling utility cart if you need mobility and integrated power outlets for charging devices. Both offer secure internal locking systems to protect your tools.
Cabinet vs Cart Key Specs
Width and footprint
The CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet measures 26 inches in width, offering a compact footprint suitable for tighter garages or workshops. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart is significantly wider at 37 inches. This extra width provides a larger base and more horizontal surface area for organizing larger tools or equipment. If you have limited floor space, the narrower cabinet is easier to fit into corners. However, if you prioritize a broad workspace and stability, the wider cart offers more room to spread out your items without feeling cramped.
Drawer count and capacity
The S2000 model features five drawers, each with a 100 lb capacity due to its full extension, soft-close slides. This high capacity per drawer makes it ideal for heavy hand tools or dense hardware. The rolling utility cart includes six drawers, providing one additional compartment for smaller items or accessories. While the specific weight capacity per drawer for the cart is not listed in the data, the extra drawer count allows for better separation of tool categories. You might prefer the cabinet for heavy loads or the cart for finer organization of numerous small items.
Power and charging features
The CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart stands out with integrated power features, including six power outlets and ports compatible with USB-A and USB-C connectors. This allows you to charge devices or run power tools directly from the cart. The S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet does not list any power outlets or charging ports in its specifications. If you frequently use battery-powered tools or need to keep electronics charged while working, the cart’s built-in power bank functionality is a significant practical advantage that the stationary cabinet cannot match.
Build and material
The S2000 cabinet is built with an 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame construction, emphasizing durability and a robust structure. It is made in the USA with global materials in Sedalia, Missouri. The rolling utility cart’s specific steel gauge and frame construction are not detailed in the provided data. Both units include surface protection; the cabinet has an embossed top mat, while the cart includes liners to protect drawer surfaces. Without specific gauge data for the cart, the cabinet’s construction specs offer a clearer picture of its heavy-duty steel thickness and manufacturing origin.
Mobility and wheels
The title and description of the second product identify it as a tool cart with wheels, specifically a rolling utility cart. This design allows you to move your entire storage unit across the workshop floor. The S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet is described as a stationary cabinet with no mention of casters or wheels in its specs. If you need to reposition your storage frequently or bring tools to different workstations, the rolling cart is the only viable option. The cabinet is designed to remain in one fixed location for stable, permanent storage.
Which CRAFTSMAN unit fits your needs
You need a compact, stationary cabinet
The CRAFTSMAN S2000 measures 26 inches wide, making it ideal for tight spaces. Its 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction provides durable stability. With five drawers and 100 lb capacity per drawer, it offers substantial organized storage. The soft-close slides and embossed top mat add practical features for a fixed workshop setup.
You require mobility and power outlets
This rolling utility cart features six power outlets and USB-A and USB-C ports for convenient device charging. It includes an integrated pegboard and side tray for versatile tool organization. The internal locking system ensures security. Its wider 37-inch footprint supports more tools, and the rolling design allows easy movement around your workspace.
You prioritize drawer capacity and weight limits
The rolling cart offers six drawers compared to the cabinet's five, providing additional storage layers. It includes protective liners to keep tools from sliding and protect surfaces. The internal locking system secures your contents. While the cabinet has a 100 lb per drawer rating, this cart's design supports heavy utility tasks with its robust rolling frame.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet
Best for: Stationary heavy tool storage with soft-close drawers
- Drawers
- 5
- Width
- 26
- Drawer Capacity
- 100
- Drawer Slides
- Full extension, soft-close
- Material
- 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame
- Color
- Black
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet Affiliate link
This Craftsman S2000 cabinet offers a 26-inch footprint with five drawers. It features 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction for durability. Each drawer supports 100 pounds using full extension, soft-close slides. The unit includes an embossed top mat and an internal locking system. It suits users needing substantial stationary storage with heavy-duty drawer mechanisms.
Pros
- 18-20 gauge steel I-frame construction
- 5 drawers with 100 lb capacity each
- Full extension, soft-close drawer slides
- Internal locking system with over-mold key
- Embossed top mat included for protection
Cons
- Fixed height of 26 inches limits vertical space
- No wheels or mobility features included
- Requires assembly for setup
Good fit if
- You need heavy-duty drawer slides for large tools
- You prefer a stationary, floor-standing cabinet
- You want internal locking for security
Skip if
- You need rolling mobility for your storage
- You require more than 26 inches of width
- You want a pre-assembled unit ready to use
Verdict: Craftsman S2000 26in 5-Drawer Cabinet provides robust 100 lb per drawer capacity and soft-close slides for users who prioritize stationary, secure storage over mobility.
CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart
Best for: mobile charging and multi-drawer tool storage
- Drawers
- 6
- Width
- 37
- Locking System
- Internal locking system
- Power Outlet
- 6 power outlets, USB-A and USB-C
- Pegboard
- Integrated pegboard
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN rolling utility cart measures 37 inches wide, 21 inches deep, and 41 inches high. It gives you six drawers with included liners, an integrated pegboard, and a side tray. A built-in power strip adds six outlets plus USB-A and USB-C ports. It suits you if you need mobile storage that charges corded and battery gear.
Pros
- Integrated power strip with six AC outlets, USB-A, and USB-C ports
- Six drawers with pre-cut protective liners included
- Integrated side pegboard and attached side utility tray
- Internal locking system and a 10-year limited warranty
Cons
- At 37 inches wide and 21 inches deep, it requires more garage space than 26-inch cabinets
- Maximum drawer weight capacity is not listed in the specifications
Good fit if
- You need onboard AC and USB ports to power and charge tools directly at your workstation
- You want external hanging utility from a side tray and pegboard
- You prefer six drawers complete with pre-cut liners
Skip if
- You work in a narrow space that cannot clear a 37-inch wide by 21-inch deep footprint
- You require explicit per-drawer load weight ratings before purchasing
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN 37-Inch 6-Drawer Rolling Cart is built for technicians who need dedicated drawer storage paired with active charging ports at their workstation.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet | CRAFTSMAN 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart |
|---|---|---|
| Drawers | 5 | 6 |
| Width | 26 | 37 |
| Drawer Capacity | 100 | not stated |
| Drawer Slides | Full extension, soft-close | not stated |
| Material | 18-20 Ga. steel I-Frame | not stated |
| Locking System | not stated | Internal locking system |
| Power Outlet | not stated | 6 power outlets, USB-A and USB-C |
| Pegboard | not stated | Integrated pegboard |
| Color | Black | Gray |
| Dimensions | 26 × 26 × 26 inches | not stated |
| Size | 8 inches (W) x 30 inches (L) x 6 inches (H) | not stated |
| Model | CMST32752BK | CMSTUC06GB |
Frequently asked questions
Is the Craftsman S2000 cabinet suitable for heavy tools?
Yes, the Craftsman S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet supports significant weight. It offers a 100 lb capacity per drawer. This makes it ideal for stationary heavy tool storage. You get soft-close slides for smooth operation. The unit is designed for secure, fixed-location organization rather than mobility.
Does the Craftsman rolling cart have power outlets?
Yes, the Craftsman 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart includes built-in power. It is designed for mobile storage with integrated electrical access. This feature suits users who need to charge tools or use powered equipment while moving around the shop. It provides convenience for active workspaces.
Which unit is better for small garages?
The Craftsman S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet is better for tight spaces. It measures 26 inches wide, offering a compact footprint. The Craftsman rolling cart is wider at 37 inches. If you have limited floor space, the narrower cabinet fits more easily into smaller garages or workshops without overwhelming the area.
Does the S2000 cabinet have a locking system?
Yes, both units feature internal locking systems for security. The Craftsman S2000 26-inch 5-Drawer Cabinet includes this standard safety feature. It helps keep your tools secure when the unit is stationary. This internal lock ensures that contents remain protected even when you are not actively supervising the storage area.
How many drawers does the rolling utility cart have?
The Craftsman 37 in Full Bank Rolling Utility Cart comes with six drawers. This configuration provides ample organized storage for various tools and accessories. The additional drawer compared to some cabinets allows for more segmented storage. It supports users who prefer rolling mobility with substantial organizational capacity.
What is the main difference between these two tools?
The main difference is mobility versus stationary storage. The S2000 cabinet is designed for fixed, secure storage with soft-close drawers. The rolling utility cart offers mobility and built-in power outlets. Choose the cabinet for a permanent setup. Choose the cart if you need to move tools and power sources around your workspace.

