As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

CRAFTSMAN or WEN? Tool Chests Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are comparing a CRAFTSMAN vs WEN tool chest to see which fits your workspace. Both brands offer black steel storage solutions designed for durability. The main difference lies in their scale and intended use. The CRAFTSMAN unit is a compact rolling combo with five drawers. The WEN option is a large top chest with six drawers and built-in charging. You need to decide between mobile, mid-size storage and stationary, high-capacity organization based on your specific tool inventory and shop layout.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest ComboWEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station
Width18.3 inches52 inches
Drawers56
Drawer Capacity30 lb100 lb
Material Gauge20 - 24 gauge21 gauge
FeaturesRolling base with castersOnboard charging station

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo if

  • You need a mobile unit that rolls easily across your floor
  • You have limited floor space and need a narrower footprint
  • You prefer full-extension ball-bearing slides for smooth operation

Choose WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station if

  • You require heavy-duty drawers capable of holding up to 100 lb each
  • You want to charge power tools directly inside the chest
  • You have ample space for a wide, stationary storage piece

Verdict: The CRAFTSMAN chest is the better choice if you prioritize mobility and a compact design for smaller workshops. The WEN chest suits those who need maximum drawer load capacity and integrated power outlets for a fixed location. Choose based on whether you value rolling convenience or heavy-duty stationary storage.

CRAFTSMAN vs WEN Tool Chest

Overall Size

Edge: Tie

The CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch Tool Chest Combo measures 30.9 inches in length, 18.3 inches in width, and 32.3 inches in height. It is designed as a compact rolling unit that fits into smaller garages or workshops. In contrast, the WEN 52-Inch Premium Tool Chest is significantly larger. It spans 52 inches in width, 18 inches in depth, and 23 inches in height. This makes it a substantial piece of furniture that requires more floor space. The WEN unit is a top chest, meaning it sits on a separate cabinet, while the CRAFTSMAN is a standalone rolling combo. You need to measure your available floor area carefully before choosing between these two very different footprints.

Drawer Capacity

Edge: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

Storage volume differs greatly between these two models. The CRAFTSMAN offers 10,227 cubic inches of total storage across its five drawers. Each drawer can hold up to 30 pounds of tools, supported by full-extension ball-bearing slides for smooth operation. The WEN model features six lockable drawers, each with a 100-pound capacity. This higher per-drawer weight limit allows you to store heavier power tools or hardware bins without worrying about slide failure. While the CRAFTSMAN provides a single integrated unit, the WEN system is modular. You can pair the WEN top chest with a 9-drawer rolling cabinet to expand your storage significantly. The WEN drawers also include PVC liners for protection.

Build Material

Edge: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

Both units prioritize steel construction for durability, but the gauge varies. The CRAFTSMAN uses 20 to 24 gauge steel. This range indicates a mix of thicker and thinner steel sections throughout the frame and drawers. It is built to last and made in the USA with global materials. The WEN tool chest is constructed from premium 21-gauge powder-coated steel. A consistent 21-gauge rating suggests a uniform thickness across the entire unit. The powder coating adds an extra layer of protection against scratches and corrosion. While the CRAFTSMAN relies on its steel gauge for strength, the WEN adds a finished surface for aesthetic and protective benefits. Both materials are standard for heavy-duty tool storage.

Mobility

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

The CRAFTSMAN is designed for mobility from the start. It comes with 3-inch by 1-inch casters, with two locking and swiveling. This allows you to roll the entire 69.5-pound unit around your workspace easily. The 300-pound load rating ensures the casters can handle a fully loaded chest without issue. The WEN 52-Inch Top Chest does not include casters in its base configuration. It is a stationary top chest that rests on a separate cabinet. To move it, you would need to detach it from the rolling cabinet or use a dolly. If you need to move your tools frequently, the CRAFTSMAN’s integrated caster system is more practical than the stationary WEN top chest.

Extra Features

Edge: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

The WEN tool chest includes several modern convenience features that the CRAFTSMAN lacks. It comes with an onboard charging station featuring eight outlets: six standard 120V household outlets and two USB ports. This allows you to charge power tools directly from the chest. It also includes dual gas lid struts for easy one-handed opening and side carrying handles. The CRAFTSMAN focuses on mechanical reliability instead. It includes a tool chest and cabinet in one carton, with the chest shipping inside the cabinet for protection. It also includes a drawer liner roll. The WEN adds a two-year warranty, whereas the CRAFTSMAN data does not specify a warranty period. The charging station is a significant advantage for electric tool users.

Which tool chest suits your needs

Small workshop owners needing mobility

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

The CRAFTSMAN model offers a compact footprint with a 30.9-inch length and 18.3-inch width. It includes five drawers on full-extension ball-bearing slides for easy access. The 300-pound load capacity and 3-inch casters allow you to move it easily. This rolling combo fits well in tighter spaces while providing 10,227 cubic inches of storage.

Users prioritizing heavy drawer capacity

Our pick: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

The WEN unit features six drawers with a 100-pound capacity each. This high load rating supports heavy power tools and equipment. The 21-gauge powder-coated steel construction adds durability. You get soft-close drawers and a tall-till lid for additional storage. This top chest is ideal if you need to organize substantial weight across multiple compartments securely.

Those needing onboard power outlets

Our pick: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

The WEN model includes an onboard charging station with eight outlets. It provides six standard 120V household outlets and two USB ports. This feature allows you to charge tools and devices directly from the chest. The dual gas lid struts and side handles add convenience. This setup is practical for keeping your workspace powered and organized without extra cords.

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo

Best for: High-capacity professional tool storage

Drawers
5
Width
18.3
Drawer Capacity
30
Load Capacity
300
Drawer Slides
full-extension ball-bearing
Material
20 - 24 gauge steel

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo Affiliate link

This Craftsman unit combines a chest and cabinet with 10,227 cubic inches of storage. It features 20-24 gauge steel construction and five drawers with 30 lb capacity each. Full-extension ball-bearing slides ensure smooth operation. The 300 lb load rating and 3-inch casters support heavy use. It suits professionals needing durable, mobile storage for extensive tool collections.

Pros

  • 20-24 gauge steel construction for durability
  • 10,227 cubic inches of total storage
  • 300 lb load rating per drawer
  • Full-extension ball-bearing drawer slides

Cons

  • Narrow 18.3-inch width limits horizontal tool placement
  • 69.5-pound weight requires assembly
  • No mention of internal organization or dividers

Good fit if

  • You need high-capacity storage for many tools
  • You require smooth drawer operation for frequent access
  • You want a durable steel chest for professional use

Skip if

  • You have limited floor width for a 18.3-inch unit
  • You prefer pre-assembled furniture ready to use
  • You need extensive internal organization accessories

Verdict: Craftsman 26-Inch Rolling Tool Chest offers robust capacity and smooth mechanics for serious tool storage. It fits users prioritizing volume and durability over compact footprints.

WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station

Best for: stationary workspaces needing built-in power

Width
52
Drawer Capacity
100
Material
21-gauge powder-coated steel
Locking System
lockable
Color
Black
Dimensions
18 × 52 × 23 inches

View on Amazon: WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station Affiliate link

This WEN tool chest measures 52 inches wide and stands 23 inches tall. It features six lockable drawers, each rated for a 100-pound capacity. The construction uses 21-gauge powder-coated steel for durability. An onboard charging station includes six 120V outlets and two USB ports. It also comes with soft-close drawers and dual gas lid struts. This unit suits you if you need a wide, sturdy workbench with built-in power access for your workshop.

Pros

  • 6 lockable drawers with 100-pound capacity each
  • Onboard charging station with 6 outlets and 2 USB ports
  • 21-gauge powder-coated steel construction
  • Soft-close drawers and dual gas lid struts

Cons

  • No wheels or rolling base included
  • Limited to 6 drawers compared to combo sets
  • Requires separate cabinet for full rolling system

Good fit if

  • You need a wide, stationary storage surface
  • You want built-in power outlets for tools
  • You plan to pair it with a rolling cabinet

Skip if

  • You need a fully rolling unit without separate parts
  • You prefer a compact footprint under 52 inches wide
  • You want a single-piece chest with more than 6 drawers

Verdict: WEN 52-Inch Premium Tool Chest offers robust steel build and convenient onboard power for stationary setups. It fits you best if you prioritize wide workspace and electrical access over integrated mobility.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station
Drawers 5 not stated
Width 18.3 52
Drawer Capacity 30 100
Load Capacity 300 not stated
Drawer Slides full-extension ball-bearing not stated
Material 20 - 24 gauge steel 21-gauge powder-coated steel
Locking System not stated lockable
Casters 3" x 1" casters; two lock and swivel not stated
Color Black Black
Dimensions 30.9 × 18.3 × 32.3 inches 18 × 52 × 23 inches
Weight 69.5 pounds not stated
Size 26-Inch 52-Inch Top
Model CMST82763BK GG531T

Frequently asked questions

Does the WEN 52-inch chest have power outlets?

Yes, this model includes a built-in charging station. The WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station features onboard power access. This allows you to charge tools or devices directly from the unit. It is ideal for stationary workspaces where electrical access is a priority.

Which tool chest is better for small garages?

The CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch Combo is better for small spaces. It measures 30.9 inches in length and 18.3 inches in width. Its compact footprint fits into tighter areas. The WEN unit is much wider at 52 inches, making it suitable only for larger, stationary setups.

What is the weight of the CRAFTSMAN tool chest?

The CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo weighs 69.5 pounds. This weight provides stability while allowing mobility via its casters. The WEN 52-Inch Top Chest does not list a weight in its specifications, but its larger steel construction suggests it is designed for stationary use.

Are these tool chests made of steel?

Yes, both units are constructed from steel. The WEN 52-Inch model explicitly lists steel as its material. The CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch model is described as a robust steel storage solution. Both brands prioritize durable steel builds for long-term tool protection and durability.

Does the CRAFTSMAN chest have wheels?

Yes, the CRAFTSMAN 26-Inch Combo includes mobility features. It is designed as a rolling unit with casters. The verdict notes it offers smooth mechanics for moving. The WEN 52-Inch Top Chest is described as lacking integrated mobility, indicating it is meant to stay in one place.

What is the height of the WEN 52-inch chest?

The WEN 52-Inch Top Chest with Charging Station stands 23 inches tall. Its dimensions are 52 inches wide, 18 inches in length, and 23 inches in height. This lower profile makes it a top chest unit, distinct from the taller CRAFTSMAN model which is 32.3 inches high.

See also